winter wonderland

christmas popschristmas pops 2Christmas is my favorite time of year! This last year, I was invited to attend a dessert exchange/31 bits  party with some ladies from my church. I was also told that there was going to be a competition for most creative and best tasting so, of course, being the competitive person that I am, I wanted to win! I began looking through all my recipes, trying to figure out which one would be best and then it hit me. A cake pop wonderland.

I began to sketch up everything that I wanted in this wonderland of mine; all the reindeer including Rudolph and his main squeeze Clarice, a snowman, presents, Santa and Mrs. Claus; so many ideas I was overwhelmed with all that I could do.

So, first I started working on the gingerbread house with my momma. We spent a few good hours working on the perfect house to be the center of this winterland and then I began work on the candy cane road. Bless Pinterest! I found this super fun idea on how to make a cookie platter from mints and used that to make a road for my scene!

Endless hours later, I was done. I have never been so proud of something that I made. Everything that you see is edible (except the styrofoam base). I love how Mrs. Claus turned out, I think that she looked like a Peanuts character. It was so fun showing up to the party with this. I got there a few minutes early so that I could set up. It was so fun to see peoples reactions to the pops. Most people thought it was just a decoration and then once they realized that it was a dessert, they thought it was too cute to eat. I ended up winning most creative!

If you want to see more pictures, you can check out my instagram: morgieporgiepuddnpie or my hashtag on IG #morgieporgiepuddnpieluvs2bake

Leave a Reply

