Banana Breakfast Bites

Another PINTEREST success! For some reason we can never seem to finish the bananas in my house before they start to get a little too ripe to eat. I HATE throwing away food so I have been trying to find recipes that utilize different things in my kitchen that I needed to use like yesterday.  This last week I desperately needed to use my bananas before they got to the too ripe to use stage, but didn’t want to make the same muffins I always make (not that they aren’t delicious, but I like experimenting with different things and I wanted to find something new and yummy)! So naturally, the first place I looked was Pinterest. I found a couple recipes and this one really stuck out to me! Not everything turns out as I imagined when I find it on Pinterest, but this recipe was pretty dang good and made a lot!

PREHEAT OVEN TO 400

DRY ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 cups QUICK oats

photo-2

Once I combined all the dry ingredients into a bowl, I actually used my hands to really mix it all together. The brown sugar seemed clumpy when I was trying to mix it with my spoon so that was when I decided to just dig in and get a little dirty!

WET ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cups PLAIN applesauce (2 lunch size containers)
  • 3 smashed RIPE bananas
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

photo-1

Here is what the wet ingredients looked like once I got them all mixed together. I first mashed up the bananas before mixing in the other ingredients. Once I got everything in the bowl I used the utensil pictured to really mush out the lumps (I like a more creamy texture to my food so I don’t think this step is necessary).

Once I had the wet and dry ingredients combined (separately), I combined them both into the bigger bowl. It took a little elbow grease to get it thoroughly mixed together because there were random pockets of dry batter and I wanted to avoid dry mix being dumped into my pan.

I greased my 9×13 cake pan with butter before pouring the batter in. I feel like when I grease my cake pans with butter instead of spraying them with PAM, the sides don’t pull in as much as it bakes. Let it bake for 22 minutes and then cool for probably 15 minutes in the pan before cutting. These were  great because they were filling, seemed somewhat healthy and definitely tasted oh so yummy!

photo

 Thank you Pinterest for yet another successful baking story (and cookandcraftmecrazy for the recipe)!

Leave a Reply

